BOARD AGENDA INFORMATIONAL ITEM

DEPARTMENT: Communications/Public

Information Department

TOPIC: GOOD NEWS

FOR THE MONTH OF: April 2023

1. The following students were chosen as the "Do the Right Thing" award winners for April: Hayden Martin, Chapel Grove Elementary; Jaxon Rhinehart, Springfield Elementary; , Bessemer City Middle; and Andrew Ferrell, Forestview High School.

- 2. Approximately 200 outstanding middle school musicians participated in the all-county band concert on April 1 at **Holbrook Middle School**. The event featured performances by two middle school groups. Students were chosen for the all-county band clinic through an audition process. **Cramerton Middle School** band teacher **Lisa Ratchford** and Stephanie Tomberlin of Union County Public Schools were the guest conductors for the band clinic.
- 3. Forestview High School teacher Jerry Smalls and W.C. Friday Middle School teacher Cindy Owens were named the Gaston County Schools Band Directors of the Year.
- 4. The following high schools received a superior rating at the North Carolina Music Performance Adjudication (MPA) Festival at Mooresville High School: Bessemer City High School wind ensemble; Stuart W. Cramer High School wind ensemble; Stuart W. Cramer High School freshman band; East Gaston High School symphonic band; Forestview High School symphonic band; North Gaston High School symphonic band; and South Point High School symphonic band.
- 5. Hannah Lineberger of Belmont Middle School and Cooper Queen of W.C. Friday Middle School received the Kelly Robb Music Scholarship to attend summer music camp. Kelly Robb was a beloved music educator at Stanley Middle School. The scholarship honors her love and dedication to music and her students.
- 6. The five finalists for **Gaston County Schools** Assistant Principal of the Year 2023-2024 are **Josh Bromley**, **Forestview High School**; **Michael Dermott**, **Mount Holly Middle**; **Douglas Doorley**, **Lowell Elementary**; **NaKishia Glenn**, **North Gaston High School**; and **Janet Ramsey**, **Robinson Elementary**. The winner will be announced in May during the Evening of Excellence ceremony.
- 7. The five finalists for **Gaston County Schools** Central Office Administrator of the Year 2023-2024 are **Shannon Hullett**, **Academic Services**; **Curtis Poplin**, **Technology**; **Celeste Sadler**, **Academic Services**; **Robin Setzer**, **Academic Services**; and **Alan Sprout**, **Technology**. The winner will be announced in May during the Evening of Excellence ceremony.

- 8. Sixteen students from Gaston County Schools were selected to attend the 2023 session of the prestigious North Carolina Governor's School. Students attending Governor's School East at Meredith College are John Gouch III, South Point High School; Ella Hamilton, East Gaston High School; Logan Watkins, Stuart W. Cramer High School; and Bowie Werran, Stuart W. Cramer High School. Students attending Governor's School West at Winston-Salem State University are Lauren Arthurs, South Point High School; Aissatou Diouf, Ashbrook High School; Skyler Hernandez, Hunter Huss High School; Benjamin Kimmel, Hunter Huss High School; Ian McGinnis, South Point High School; Samantha Narciso, South Point High School; Pressley Rankin, East Gaston High School; Emma Thweatt, Forestview High School; Ainsley VanderMeer, Stuart W. Cramer High School; Alexander Villarreal, South Point High School; and Jacey Williams, Forestview High School.
- 9. **Gaston County Schools** held a ceremony on March 29 to celebrate **Cramerton Middle School** being one of six North Carolina schools to earn the Paideia Seminar Nationally Certified School recognition.

10.

- 16. The North Carolina Farm Bureau donated 32 copies of "I Love Strawberries" by Shannon Anderson to **Gaston County Schools**. **Lowell Elementary** principal **Kristin Kiser**, the current Gaston County Principal of the Year, accepted the book donation on behalf of the school system.
- 17. **Ashbrook High School** held its All-Star Pageant on March 18. was crowned Mr. Ashbrook and **Zemariah Webb** was crowned Miss Ashbrook. In addition,